Saturday, 27 February 2021

COUM Transmissions: After Cease to Exist (1978)

The last time I saw this film prior to watching it just before was at a showing at the London Film Makers Co-Op in Camden I think in 79 that also had all the memebers of TG present

Lost Horizons feat. The Hempolics - I Woke Up With An Open Heart (On-U Sound Remix)

Video directed by Innerstrings 
Remix - Adrian Sherwood 
Engineer - Matt Smyth 
Cello and Bass Guitar - Ivan “Celloman" Hussey 
Drums - Prisoner


The Story of J Dilla’s Foundational Album 'Welcome 2 Detroit'
The Effects of Antidepressant Discontinuation on MDMA-Assisted Psychotherapy

Mixmaster Morris - U Roy Tribute Show

A truly wild New York story: the Soho artist who, forty years ago, built a five- building by hand
King Britt's Blacktronica Celebrates Black Innovators In Electronic Music

Congrats to Mogwai on making #1 this week in the UK album charts


Great Australian Albums / 16 Lovers Lane - The Go-Betweens

+ Robert Forster and Peter Paphides In Conversation

Sounds about right...


Scottish independence: Support for independence has changed the face of unionism

Friday, 26 February 2021

Fairport Convention - 'Bouton Rouge' French TV Show, Broadcast Live, April 27 1968

01-Morning Glory 
02-Time Will Show The Wiser 
03-Reno Nevada 
Judy Dyble - Vocals/Recorder 
Iain Matthews - Vocals 
Simon Nicol - Rhythm Guitar/Vocals 
Ashley "Tyger" Hutchings - Bass Guitar 
Richard Thompson - Lead Guitar/Vocals 
Martin Lamble - Drums

Marianne Faithfull with Warren Ellis - She Walks in Beauty

Sam Shalabi - Lonely Woman

This is a solo oud version of “Lonely Woman” by Ornette Coleman. I’ve loved this melody ever since I first heard it over 30 years ago. A while back, I had the idea of playing and recording it on oud – the melody has always struck me as very Arabic/Middle Eastern sounding – it has a sobbing/emotional feeling that you hear in certain kinds of Arabic vocal music and modes. It’s only recently though that it has made sense to attempt a version of it. I’ve been exploring the idea of covering Free Jazz ‘standards’ that could work on oud and would have an emotional resonance on the instrument (I’ve recently recorded versions of “Ghosts” by Albert Ayler and “India” by John Coltrane ). This is what led me back to this piece… I recorded it at home in Montreal with one microphone and one take 

Calling All Active Agents (WSB) Mix

'Smash The Control Machine' 
Tracks from Electronic Revolution/Real English Tea Made Here/Nothing Here Now But The Recordings/10% File Under Burroughs/Vaudeville Voices/Dub Spencer & Trance Hill/Ministry/Laurie Anderson/Bill Laswell & Material. Also features The Master Musicians of Joujouka with and without Ornette Coleman Repost

A few other mixes I've put together recently

Guitars Etc Mix Tracklist: 
1 Black Man On Your Shoulder John Martyn 
2 Kosmos (Lynch Mob Bonus Beats) Paul Weller 
3 Safesurfer Julian Cope 
4 Come Together Spiritualized 
5 The Act We Act Sugar 
6 Memories Can't wait Living Colour 
7 Interstate 80 Tom Morello ft. Slash 
8 The Honeymoon Is Over The Cruel Sea 
9 You Don't Move Me Keith Richards 
10 Waiting For The Sun The Jayhawks 
11 Put Some Miles On The Dream Syndicate 
12 Haunted & Known Six Organs of Admittance 
13 Piano Fire Sparklehorse
14 My Pal God 
+ Bonus
15 Blank Generation Peter Laughner

Sound Selector Mix Tracklist: 
1 Blood & Fire Niney The Observer & Big Youth 
2 Under Heavy Manners Prince Far I 
3 Nah Skin Up Dub Keith Hudson 
4 Inglan Is A Bitch / Bitch Dub Linton Kwesi Johnson 
5 Midnight Ravers The Wailers 
6 My Whole World Bim Sherman 
7 Sufferer's Time / Dub The Heptones 
8 Croaking Lizard The Upsetters 
9 Fade Away Junior Byles 
10 Jah Is I Guiding Star Tappa Zukie 
11 Two Sevens Clash Culture 
12 HolyMount Zion (Version) The Roots Radics 
13 Tell Us Our Past History / Tell Us Our Past History (Dubplate Mix) Yabby You 
14 Lightning Flash Weak Heart Drop Big Youth 
15 Blackheart Man Bunny Wailer 
16 To Be A Lover (Have Mercy) George Faith 
17 Rowing (12") Dennis Bovell 
18 Easy (12") Jimmy Lindsay 
19 Night Nurse (12") Gregory Isaacs 
20 Guess Who's Coming To Dinner (12") Black Uhuru 
21 Warrior Charge (12") Aswad

NOLA Funk Mix Tracklist: 
1 Fire On The Bayou The Meters 
2 Let The Groove Move You Gus 'The Groove' Lewis 
3 Iko Iko The Dixie Cups 
4 Soul Soul Soul The Wild Magnolias 
5 Four Corners Lee Dorsey 
6 Junco Partner James Waynes 
7 Street Parade Earl King 
8 Message From The Meters The Meters 
9 Y'er Comes The Funky Man Bob French's Storyville Jazz Band 
10 Soul Junction Backyard Heavies 
11 Gris Gris Gumbo Ya Ya Dr John 
12 We're Doing It (Thang) Eddie Bo 
13 Big Chief pt 2 Professor Longhair 
14 Yes We Can Can Lee Dorsey 
15 Mama Roux Dr John 
16 I Can't Help It Smokey Johnson 
17 Jockey Ride pts 1 & 2 Explosions 
18 Can You Handle It Eddie Bo 
19 Brother Man Sister Anne Clemon Smith 
20 If That's the Way You Like it, I Like Bobby Rush w Blind Dog Smokin' 
21 Hey Mama The Wild Tchoupitoulas

This/That Mix Tracklist: 
1 Face On The Sand Siavash Amini 
2 Painted Desert Ikue Mori / Robert Quine / Marc Ribot 
3 Washington Park Moor Mother 
4 Le Matin Des Noire Barry Adamson 
5 Man Alone (Can't Stop The Fadin') Tindersticks 
6 Rhino Youth / Jah Wobble / Vivian Goldman 
7 3.38 The Pop Group 
8 War Version The Bug 
9 Haul & Pull Up Sly & Robbie 
10 Guanguanco Gary Lucas / Adrian Sherwood 
11 S-P-Q-R This Heat 
12 A Time of Happening The Threshold Houseboys Choir 
13 Muzak From The Hive Mind Part VI (The Problematic Transition) Black Lung

When Indian Classical Music Giants Collided With Psychedelic San Francisco

I Surrender (A List of the Dead) Mix

1 Vox Lux Opening Credits Scott Walker 
2 Counter-Earth Trondheim Voices 
3 Steve Colin Stetson 
4 The Last Opium Den (On Earth) The Quiet Temple 
5 Andromeda Drone Delta Waves 
6 Waves Underground Lovers 
7 Hunting & Gathering (Cydonia) Sunn O))) 
8 Bergelmir Jim Jarmusch, Lee Ranaldo, Marc Urselli, Balázs Pándi 
9 Sex God Sex Swans 
10 Feather Scorn 
11 Hall of The Mountain Grill Hawkwind 
12 Time Distortion Moor Mother 
13 Cleveland 20/20 Algiers 
14 In Your Pit (The Bug Remix) JK Flesh 

A wee mix I made to go with reading 'Monolithic Undertow' Harry Sword's search for sonic oblivion courtesy of the DRONE

Algiers - Cleveland 20/20 + Vocal Mix

Algiers - Live on KEXP (2015) Blood 
But She Was Not Flying 
Eunuch Games

David Keenan: In Quest of Ferlinghetti

Wednesday, 24 February 2021

Kevin Richard Martin Mix

Kevin Richard Martin (AKA The Bug) with Dylan Carlson (Earth), Burial, Moor Mother and JK Flesh