Monday, 8 August 2016

Art Sex Music: Cosey Fanni Tutti's autobiography to be published in May 2017

Art Sex Music (to be published by Faber) is the autobiography of a musician who, as a founding member of the avant-garde group Throbbing Gristle and electronic pioneers Chris & Cosey, has consistently challenged the boundaries of music over the past four decades.
It is the account of an artist who, as part of COUM Transmissions, represented Britain at the IXth Biennale de Paris, whose Prostitution show at the ICA in 1976 caused the Conservative MP Nicholas Fairbairn to declare her, COUM and Throbbing Gristle ‘Wreckers of Civilisation’ . . . shortly before he was arrested for indecent exposure, and whose work continues to be held at the vanguard of contemporary art, some of which resides as part of the Tate permanent collection.
And it is the story of her work as a pornographic model and striptease artiste which challenged assumptions about morality, pornography and art.
Art Sex Music is the wise, shocking and elegant autobiography of Cosey Fanni Tutti.


Art Sex Music - Spoken Word Events
September 1st - 4th - Festival No.6, Estuary Stage
Q&A with Andrew Weatherall
October 26th - ICA Theatre, London
Q&A with Maria Fusco, rare screening of the COUM Transmissions film After Cease to Exist, an exhibition of Cosey's original ICA Prostitution Magazine Actions plus DJ set by Richard Clouston's Cosey Club.


No comments:

Post a comment